Directors and Staff


Directors and Staff

Past Directors


Our Board of Directors is responsible for overall policies and practices of the Foundation. We govern grant making, learning awards and community outreach.

Kate Daniels-Howard

BVCF chair Kate Daniels-Howard has lived in the Valley since 2011 and is convinced it’s the best place to be, bar none! She recognizes the beauty of the unceded territory of the Wets’uwet’in and feels very fortunate to have found such a welcoming community.  After retiring from a 30 year career, which included senior management roles in both Federal and Provincial government and private sector roles in forestry and mining, Kate is finding joy volunteering and grand parenting. She finds the breadth and depth of volunteerism in the Bulkley Valley truly astonishing and is committed to helping the many grassroots organizations achieve their goals in order to make our communities even better.
Kate enjoys golfing, gardening and galavanting about with her husband, John, and dog Luna.

Tony Pesklevits

Vice Chair Tony is Anneke’s dad and Lisa’s partner, and has had the privilege of living on the Wet’suwet’en yintah in Smithers since 2008.  Over his public service career, he’s been responsible for transforming conflict and finding innovative ways to tackle wicked problems at the intersection of reconciliation, climate change, land use and emergency management. In his free time, you’ll find Tony knee-deep in sawdust, snow or the river.

Sherri Wright

JessY Chaplin

Mike Doogan-Smith

Mike Doogan-Smith – Treasurer Mike has been on the board since 2018 and assumes the role of Treasurer/Director. As a long time resident of the Bulkley Valley since 1986, Mike was a public school Music Educator for 32 years and taught at both the Elementary and Secondary Levels. During his tenure at Smithers Secondary the music program grew exponentially and his bands and choirs received local, provincial, national and international acclaim. In 2013 Mike received the Professional Music Educator Award for Secondary Schools in the province of BC.

Mike can be seen running, biking, paddling, skiing and RVing with his wife Darlene and enjoying their three grandchildren.

Miake Elliot

Marian Rose

Maurice Yee


Deb Camenzind

Executive Director provides valued services and a front-line connection with our communities. Contact Deb at any time about BVCF programs.

Past Directors

We appreciate our board of directors from past years for their hours of volunteer work

  • Ryan Hill – Smithers

  • Charlie o’Malley – Smithers

  • Sean Mitchell – Smithers

  • Loren Kelly – Smithers

  • Bonnie McCreary – Smithers

  • Sandra Lavallie – Houston

  • Regina Saimoto – Smithers

  • Rod Holland – Telkwa

  • Juanita Hagman – Smithers

  • Edward Donaldson Bobb – Smithers

  • Colleen Burns – Hazelton

  • Jacqueline Wheatley – Smithers
  • Dee McRae – Houston
    • Karen Rabiossi – Smithers

    • Pauline Gomez – Hazelton

    • Don Chinnick – Smithers

    • Colin Bruintjes – Smithers

    • Tanya Amonson – Houston

    • William David Stene – Smithers

    • Betty Anne Walker – Smithers

    • Grant Harris – Smithers

    • Dale Perry – Smithers

    • Cathryn Bucher – Smithers

    • Gordon Williams, Sr. – Smithers
    • Charles Northrup – Smithers
    • John R. Milne – Smithers
    • Don Edgecumbe – Smithers
    • Kelly Mattson – Hazelton
    • Laura Stanton – Smithers
    • Shirley Higgins – Houston
    • Dick Bandstra – Smithers
    • Peter Weeber – Smithers
    • Dan Young – Smithers
    • Lorna Motz – Smithers
    • Charles Wilson – New Hazelton
    • John Perry – Smithers
    • Linda Mangnall – Smithers
    • Hank Van Der Meulen – Smithers
    • Staffie Brine – Smithers
    • Jim Goodacre – Smithers 
    • Arnold Amonson – Houston
    • Susan Leuenberger – Houston
    • Katharine Davidson – Smithers
    • Harry Norman Isaac – Smithers
    • Jytte Oulton – Smithers
    • Alan Cooper – Smithers
    • Carol Morganthaler – Smithers
    • Patricia McCammon – Smithers
    • Edward James Whalley – Smithers
    • Carole Young – Smithers
    • Margaret Davies – Smithers
    • Frederick Shortreid – Smithers
    • Jill Dunbar – Telkwa
    • John Howard – Telkwa
    • Annie Girdler – Smithers

    A Letter from the Board

    Our Plan is to support organizations and projects that aim to make meaningful, tangible, and durable change for the better at the intersection of these areas in Bulkley Valley communities.   Click Here to see our complete strategic plan.

    If you are someone or know someone who appreciates how philanthropy contributes to social well-being and provides the opportunity to contribute in the direction of our Valley’s future please Click Here to see how to become one of our board members.



    Kate Daniels-Howard

    Kate Daniels-Howard

    How to  Become a BVCF Board Member 


    Your chance to make a difference

    Do you appreciate how philanthropy contributes to social well-being and provides the opportunity to contribute in the direction of our Valley’s future?  We value your expertise, whatever that may be, to the conversation that helps guide our community giving.

    As a member of Community Foundations of Canada, a cross-country network of over 150 community foundations, we are committed to diversity, equity & inclusion and welcome applications from all individuals.   We accept Expressions of Interest (E.O.I.) to fill any vacancies on our Board of Directors and need representatives from Houston and Hazelton specifically, as well as, Smithers and the surrounding areas.  The Board meets monthly to govern and oversee the management of our Foundation. All Board Members are expected to participate in Foundation activities and attend meetings as required.

    The Role and Qualifications:

    · Serve as a member of a Foundation that is committed to improving our communities
    · Provide input, advice, and guidance to the direction of the BVCF
    · Raise the profile of the BVCF in the community
    · Have an understanding of the communities within our boundaries and a passion for our cause

    To Apply

    Please submit your EOI to: